How do I stop a contact from being shared?

o stop a contact from being shared you can mark it as "do not share".

In the web app:

In the mobile app choose 'Hide':

 

Also note that no personal information about your contacts is ever shared. Specifically, name and contact details are never accessible to anyone else.